• Lang-fr
  • Lang-en
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
  • Youtube

Emma Noël is ...

Organic and Ethical promises

Quality, Security, Environment Policy 2014

Our products are manufactured and supplied in accordance with current specifications, certifications and regulations. For this purpose, from the design of new projects and changes to existing installations, we integrate quality, security and environment aspects. We will not compromise your confidence in terms of the security, legality and quality of our products.

We contribute to maintaining and developing organic, fair, solid and sustainable farming, through our membership of the « BioPartenaire » association.

With this objective, we created the Foundation Emile Noël in Mali to develop and consolidate our sesame subsidiary. 

 

Within our company we implemented:

  • Photovoltaic panels producing, depending on sunshine, up to 50,000 kWh per year
  • Glass, plastic and cardboard sorting
  • Use of palettes by a specialist company
  • Use of our purge oils by companies manufacturing biofuels
  • Regular checking of phreatic covers underground the mill
  • Use of our computer waste by sending computers to Mali
  • Sourcing our raw materials locally in order to preserve the environment by purchasing seeds from France.


Our ethical and social commitments result in:

  • Involvement in the active life of the commune of Port Saint Esprit and surrounding villages with donations from various charitable, sport and academic associations...
  • Distribution of obsolete products to social assistance associations.

These commitments are intended to encourage us to continue our global initiative efforts.

 

Commitment & Charter

Why organic cosmetics?

For several years, research laboratories involved in certification have been developing very high quality products, with the benefits provided by organic ingredients which they contain. The BIO and ECO logos identify them today.

In conventional cosmetics, there are many synthetic ingredients and animal-based ingredients still persist. It is difficult to evaluate the effects of these products on our skin after years of using them, or the consequences of these processes considered to be polluting for the environment.

Organic products respect humans and the environment:

  • Respect for humans:
 In addition to the absence of chemical and pollutant substances (pesticides, synthetic chemical fertilisers, GMO, etc.), which, in the long term are harmful for our body and for the environment, organic cosmetic products are treasures. They contain a larger quantity of active ingredients and have raw live materials which are really effective in the long term.
  • Traceability and security: It is not always easy to  know the exact composition of a "traditional" cosmetic product and to identify the origin of raw materials that it contains. Organic cosmetology is today controlled by organisations such as Ecocert and Qualité France. This ensures the traceability of ingredients and product manufacturing processes, and ensures the authenticity of cosmetic products labelled organic.
  • Protecting the environment: 
Organic farming is a production method that respects biodiversity and natural equilibriums. By actively supporting this agricultural practice, you are acting in favour of recovering the quality of water, soil and air.
  • The richness of organic products:Nature offers us a very diversified panel of ingredients. Each ingredient, whether it be of plant or mineral origin, has multiple and specific properties. This natural diversity enables the formulation of a wide range of effective products respectful of equilibriums.
  • Protecting animals: 
Animal extracts or tests on animals are forbidden in organic cosmetics.
Only ingredients from animal production (which have no effect on animal health, for example, honey) are allowed.

Understand the Organic label

ORGANIC = ingredients from organic farming
Mini 95% of plant ingredients certifiable and min 10% in total.


NAT = natural ingredients or ingredients of natural origin, including certifiable or non-certifiable ingredients (e.g. water, minerals).

Min 95% of total

An organic cosmetic product can contain a tiny amount of synthetic products (authorised preservatives needed to protect a product).
An "ORGANIC" product is a natural, plant or animal production ingredient (example: honey) which can be certified according to organic farming production regulations.

Some ingredients called "natural" cannot come from organic farming, such as:

- Ingredients of natural origin as they undergo a gentle transformation (like hydrolysis, condensation, hydrogenation etc.)

- Natural ingredients which are not of plant or animal origin (like an ingredient of mineral, marine origin or like water).


What is an organic cosmetic product?


Organic fair trade charter

For Emma Noël 7 of the subsidiaries are already "Organic Fair Trade" certified: Avocado, Hazelnut, Shea, Sesame, Argan, Baobab and Cocoa.

The Emile Noël oil mill is part of these companies which have been committed since the '80s to an alternative economy by supporting fair trade. A great lover of Africa and continuously on the look out for new materials we looked towards Mali to develop seed crops for organic sesame.
Today this subsidiary has a production of over 1300 tonnes of sesame seeds, ensuring regular business and income for over 170 Mali villages including almost 8000 producers and 10,000 people.


Organic fair trade charter, what is it?


The "ORGANIC FAIR TRADE" association brings together Small and Medium sized companies concerned about producing in accordance with sustainable development criteria.
The logic is global and involves all players in the chain: Farmers who produce, companies that transform, distributors and consumers who use the products.


The "Organic fair trade" brand assures consumers that the product bearing this logo obeys the criteria of the following ORGANIC FAIR TRADE charter:

1.    Conformity to at least one of the Organic Farming regulations recognised internationally (CEE, JAS, NOP, etc.),
2.    Contracts between operating companies and producers or organisations of producers and/or representatives of interim players of subsidiaries,
3.    The total coverage of organic certification costs and fair trade verification (Bio Equitable) by project holders (operating companies and/or organisations of producers and/or international institutions) when they are not covered by producers.
4.    The permanent supply by all means, including financial, of technical support, management assistance, training in organic farming and the "ORGANIC FAIR TRADE" specifications, support for the organisation, management and activity of native technicians in respect of local cultures and traditions,
5. The practice of a commercial policy of "contractually guaranteed minimum price" enabling fair compensation for producers and employees to properly meet their needs and those of their families, by signing up to an objective of economic profitability of the production activity,
6. Commitments to guarantee respect for basic and fundamental rights of people, on the refusal to exploit producers, respect for social rights (weekly rest, hygiene, health and safety) and the protection of children in work...,
7. The development of sustainable agriculture and maintaining local rural fabric

Throughout the chain, the respect for these criteria is checked by ECOCERT, an independent organisation accredited by COFRAC (France) for all that is related to organic farming and which brings together for over a decade the necessary competency and experience.

These criteria are such that the "ORGANIC FAIR TRADE" brand has objective, measurable and verifiable criteria, with rigour and commitment to global organic quality of products and respect for ethical and social conditions for their production by producers and their families, in a real sustainable development and social progress initiative.

Inspections and certifications

• Lang-fr
  • Lang-en
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest
  • Youtube

Emma Noël c'est ...

Des Engagements Bio et Ethiques

Qualité, Sécurité et Environnement 2014

Nos produits sont fabriqués et fournis dans le respect des cahiers des charges, des certifications et de la réglementation en vigueur. Dans ce but, nous intégrons dès la conception de nouveaux projets et de modifications d'installations existantes, les aspects liés à la qualité, la sécurité et l'environnement. Nous faisons tout pour ne pas compromettre votre confiance en matière de sécurité, de légalité et de qualité de nos produits.

14471607191080jpg_small

Nous contribuons au maintien et au développement d'une agriculture biologique, équitable, solidaire et durable, par notre adhésion à l'association « BioPartenaire »

Dans cet objectif, nous avons créé la Fondation Emile Noël  au Mali, afin de développer et de consolider nos filières : Karité et Sésame 

 

14125930087597jpg_medium

Nous avons mis en place au sein de notre société :

  • Des panneaux photovoltaïques produisant, selon l'ensoleillement, jusqu'à 50 000 kWh par an
  • Le tri du verre, du plastique et du carton
  • La valorisation des palettes par une société spécialisée
  • La valorisation de nos huiles de purge par des sociétés fabricantes de biocarburant
  • Le contrôle régulier des nappes phréatiques en sous terrain du Moulin
  • La valorisation de nos déchets informatiques en envoyant des ordinateurs au Mali
  • L'approvisionnement local pour nos matières premières de manière à préserver l'environnement en achetant des graines d'origine France


Nos engagements éthiques et sociaux se traduisent par : 

  • La participation à la vie active de la commune de Pont Saint Esprit et des villages aux alentours à l'aide de dons aux différentes associations caritatives, sportives, scolaires....
  • La distribution des produits en fin de DLUO à des associations d'aide-sociale.

Ces engagements ont pour but de nous encourager à poursuivre nos efforts dans une démarche globale.

 

Engagement et charte

Pourquoi la cosmétique bio ?


Depuis plusieurs années, les laboratoires de recherche engagés dans une démarche de certification mettent au point des produits de très bonne qualité, avec en plus les bénéfices conférés par les ingrédients biologiques qu'ils contiennent. Les logos BIO et ECO permettent aujourd'hui de les identifier.

Dans la cosmétique conventionnelle, il y a beaucoup d'ingrédients d'origine synthétique, et persistent encore des ingrédients d'origine animale. Il est difficile d'évaluer les effets de ces produits sur notre peau après des années d'application, ni même les conséquences de ces procédés considérés comme polluants sur l'environnement.

14128431946464png_medium

Les produits biologiques sont une garantie du respect de l'Homme et de son environnement :

  • Respect de l'homme :
Outre l'absence de substances chimiques et polluantes (pesticides, engrais chimiques de synthèse, OGM...) qui, à long terme sont néfastes pour notre corps et pour l'environnement, le produit cosmétique biologique est d'une grande richesse. Il contient une quantité d'ingrédients actifs plus importante et recèle des matières premières vivantes brutes qui ont une efficacité réelle et à long terme.
  • Traçabilité et sécurité :
Il n'est pas toujours aisé de connaître la composition exacte d'un produit cosmétique " traditionnel " et d'identifier la provenance des matières premières qui le composent. La cosmétologie Biologique est aujourd'hui contrôlée par des organismes tels que Ecocert et Qualité France. Cela permet d'assurer la traçabilité des ingrédients et des processus de fabrication des produits, et de garantir l'authenticité des produits cosmétiques Bio labellisés.
  • La sauvegarde de l'environnement : 
L'agriculture biologique est un mode de production qui respecte la biodiversité et les équilibres naturels. En soutenant activement cette pratique agricole, vous agissez en faveur de la qualité de l'eau, des sols et de l'air.
  • La richesse des produits bio : La nature nous offre un panel très diversifié d'ingrédients. Chaque ingrédient, qu'il soit d'origine végétale ou minérale, a des propriétés multiples et bien spécifiques. Cette diversité naturelle permet la formulation d'une large gamme de produits efficaces et respectant les équilibres.
  • La protection des animaux : 
Les extraits animaux ou tests sur animaux sont interdits en cosmétique Bio.
Seuls les ingrédients issus de la production animale (qui n'ont aucun effet sur la santé de l'animal, par exemple le miel), sont autorisés.

 

Comprendre le label Bio 



Un produit cosmétique Bio peut contenir une quantité infime de produits synthétiques (conservateurs autorisés nécessaires à la protection du produit).
Un ingrédient " BIO " est un ingrédient naturel, végétal ou issu de la production animale (exemple : miel) qui peut être certifié selon les règles de production de l'agriculture biologique.

Certains ingrédients dits " naturels " ne peuvent être issus de l'agriculture biologique, comme :

- Les ingrédients d'origine naturelle puisqu'ils ont subi une transformation douce (type hydrolyse, condensation, hydrogénation...)

- Les ingrédients naturels qui ne sont pas d'origine végétale ou animale (comme un ingrédient d'origine minérale, marine ou bien comme l'eau).

Qu'est ce qu'un produit cosmétique bio ?


  Extrait du site Cosmébio : www.cosmebio.org


 
 
 

Charte Bio équitable

Pour Emma Noël déjà 7 filières certifiées " Bio Equitable " : Avocat, Noisette, Karité, Sésame, Argan, Baobab et le Cacao.

L'huilerie Emile Noël fait partie de ces entreprises qui se sont engagées au début des années 80 pour une économie alternative en soutenant le commerce équitable. Grands amoureux de l'Afrique et perpétuellement à la recherche de nouvelles matières nous nous sommes tournés vers le Mali afin de développer des cultures de graines de sésame biologique.

Aujourd'hui cette filière repose sur une production de plus de 1300 tonnes de graines de sésame, assurant une activité et des revenus réguliers à plus de 170 villages Maliens regroupant près de 8 000 producteurs et de 100 000 personnes autour d'eux.

Charte bio équitable, qu'est ce c'est ?

L'Association "BIO EQUITABLE" réunit des Petites et Moyennes Entreprises soucieuses, depuis leur origine, de produire selon des critères de développement durable.

La logique est globale et implique en définitive tous les acteurs de la chaîne : Les agriculteurs qui produisent, les entreprises qui transforment, les distributeurs et les consommateurs qui utilisent les produits.

La marque "BIO EQUITABLE" (Organic Fair Trade) garantit aux consommateurs que le produit porteur de ce logo obéit aux critères de la charte "BIO EQUITABLE" suivants :

1. La conformité à l'un au moins des règlements d'Agriculture Biologique reconnus au niveau international (CEE, JAS, NOP,...),
2. La contractualisation des engagements entre les entreprises opératrices et les producteurs ou organisations de producteurs et/ou les représentants des acteurs intermédiaires des filières,
3. La prise en charge totale des coûts de certification biologique et de vérification commerce équitable (Bio Equitable) par les porteurs de projets (entreprises opératrices et/ou organisations de producteurs et/ou les institutions internationales) pour qu'en aucun cas ils ne soient supportés par les producteurs,
4. La fourniture permanente par tous moyens, y compris financiers, d'appui technique, d'aide à l'encadrement, de formation à l'Agriculture Biologique et durable et au cahier des charges "BIO EQUITABLE", de soutien à l'organisation, à la gestion et à l'activité de techniciens autochtones et ceci dans le respect des cultures et traditions locales,
5. La pratique d'une politique commerciale de "prix minimum garanti contractuel" permettant une juste rémunération des producteurs et des salariés pour subvenir décemment à leurs besoins et à ceux de leurs familles, et s'inscrivant dans un objectif de rentabilité économique de l'activité de production,
6. Les engagements de garantie sur le respect des droits élémentaires et fondamentaux de la personne, sur le refus de l'exploitation des producteurs, le respect des droits sociaux du travail (repos hebdomadaire, hygiène, sécurité et santé) et de la protection des enfants.
7. Le développement d'une agriculture durable et le maintien du tissu rural local.

Tout au long de la chaîne, le respect de ces critères est contrôlé par ECOCERT, un organisme indépendant, accrédité par le COFRAC (France) pour ce qui est de l'agriculture biologique et qui réunit depuis plus d'une décennie les qualités nécessaires de compétence et d'expérience.

• Extrait du site www.biopartenaire.com

Contrôles et certifications